Narrowing Gulf and Non-Linear Golf

A case of permeable membrane and turntablism from CBS's coverage of last week's MCI Heritage Classic (via SportsFilter, emphasis mine):

The television coverage ended as controversy swirled regarding a possible Rules infraction by Cink. For the next half hour, PGA Tour officials received numerous phone calls from television viewers who were stunned when Cink brushed aside lose pebbles behind his ball. Because the hazard was a waste area and not a sand bunker, Cink was allowed to move loose impediments. However, some thought he had improved his lie. Tour official Slugger White disagreed. After reviewing the videotape, White ruled that it wasn't a penalty, thus giving Cink the championship title after an anxious 30-minute wait.

Comments

Comments are closed.